Long time no post

via Daily Prompt: Patina

I’ve been busily chipping away at the patina of work that had accumulated on my desk, and after 3 months of dedicated effort have finally hacked through it all.  I hope in the coming days to add another short story to my Copperhead County series that I’ve so enjoyed writing this year and that has earned me some gratifying response here on WordPress.

Since starting this blog, my first, at the end of April 2016, I have posted to it in fits and starts, occasionally going several months without adding any new content at all.  I’ve noticed, at least among the 70+ blogs that I follow to date, that’s a fairly common pattern.  According to several pages & posts I’ve read about running a successful blog, a consistent tip is to post regularly, and although I have struggled to do so, I feel a little less bad about it since so many others seem to suffer the same problem.  I suspect the main reason is lack of time.

If any of my favorite bloggers, the ones to whose blogs I routinely give likes and post comments, the ones who will recognize me when they see this post, are monitoring your feeds but haven’t had time to share new content, know that I miss reading your unique points of view.  I know we all accumulate layers of distractions that keep us from writing.  I hope you can find the time and will to chisel yours away soon.

For those of you who don’t know me and are just seeing my blog for the first time via today’s Daily Post, I invite your comments.  Are you able to post as regularly as you’d like?  If not, what kinds of things keep you from doing so?  Feel free to peruse my blog and tell me what you think about it.  I’m especially proud of the posts categorized “Original Writing, Fiction, Short Stories”, accessible via my handy “Categories” sidebar widget, which I figured out today how to add to my blog!

Take care, be well, and happy blogging!

Denny

 

2 thoughts on “Long time no post

Leave a comment