3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 2

Thank you, my friend Sophia at Sophia Ismaa Writes, for tagging me in this 3-day challenge.  If you haven’t already, I hope y’all will visit Sophia’s radiant blog, which far outshines my own.

Sophia offered a terrific quote today about human savagery from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, so I reckon I’ll play off that same theme with a quote from one of my favorite American authors, an irreverent curmudgeon whose writing I’ve admired since childhood and whose literary bravery I aspire to emulate:  Mark Twain, née Samuel Langhorne Clemens, who gave us this comic nugget of truth in his 1897, 718-page travelogue Following the Equator:

“There are many humorous things in the world; among them, the white man’s notion that he is less savage than the other savages.”

As part of the challenge, I am required to nominate/tag 3 of my fellow Bloggers.  Today I choose to pester:  1) Shelley at Quaint Revival; 2) K.J. Eastwick at Stories from an Eclectic Mind; and 3) Ellen at Ellen Diamond’s Blog.  I hope you’ll see what they have to contribute.

via Daily Prompt: Radiant

8 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 2

  1. Great quote, so true and is unfortunately still relevant today. Lovely to see a Mark Twain quote as well, he is fast becoming one of my favourite authors.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mark Twain does have some good ones that put people’s pretensions to flight.

    I hope you do not mind me plugging one of my own posts. It looks at Twain’s remark on crossing a man with a cat @ https://aquestionersjourney.wordpress.com/2017/07/04/was-mark-twain-right/. You at least will not be surprised by my conclusion.Well, actually you have read it already.

    Keep up your good work here. You are always so gracious to others; it is like a peasant breeze.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment